Hopeless Romantic

It all started with the Disney movies. Talk of feminism and independence was completely foreign. I wanted Prince Charming to come sweep me off my feet!

It was never as romantic as I imagined. One time Once upon a time, it was exactly as romantic as I imagined; more so. It was perfect! Prince Charming came and swept me off my feet. All I did was sit there, look lovely, and be swept.

After not long, it stopped being perfect. I was extremely hurt. “But it was so perfect!” It then left me scarred and scared to try again. Partially because I was tired of being hurt, and partially because I was afraid it would never be so perfect again.

I don’t know where we go from here. Maybe being a hopeless romantic is bad. Maybe, starting with Disney movies, I was ruined. I’m still not convinced though. I still have a glimmer of hope.

5 thoughts on “Hopeless Romantic

  1. I remember all the Disney Movies that filled me with images of love. Unfortunately, real love is not as perfect as the films. It is hard and filled with ups and downs. But real love is better than something put in the movie. Just keep believing, and everything will fall into place. Love the post 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reflections on Love

Leave a Reply

