Flowers

I have also previously touched on this subject in a previous post, but I feel like it needs to be re-addressed, after a discussion with some friends.  I know that there are guys out there that buy flowers for girls.  But in my experiences, only one guy ever has, and he knows how to treat ladies because he was raised by a bunch of them. 🙂  Also, after a conversation with friends the other day, I discovered that my experiences were not unusual.  One of my friends has NEVER been given flowers by a guy.  The guys I know that do get flowers for girls are shocked by this, but from my conversations with girls, it seems they are in the minority.  This needs to change.

Flowers are not difficult to buy.  They are also pretty inexpensive, unless you are trying to buy roses for Valentine’s Day.  You can get a pretty great bunch of flowers for $10.  If you go up to $15, you can get a really nice bouquet.  Not expensive.  Also, there are these people that arrange flowers professionally, called florists, so it’s not like you even have to make it look good yourself.  Also, if you want something specific, you can tell the florist what you want, and then they can make a custom bouquet for you that contains what you want and looks great.  So, it’s easy and cheap.  Most girls like flowers, and some (like me) happen to be completely in love with them.  Some girls don’t like them, but I don’t think it’s very common, and I’m pretty sure even if they don’t like flowers and you don’t know they don’t like flowers, they’re not going to hate you if you get them flowers.  Unless maybe you know them well enough that they think you SHOULD know that they don’t like flowers.  But anyways, my point is that it’s a pretty safe bet, and there’s a far greater chance that you’re going to make the girl incredibly pleased than not.

So this brings me to: Why in the world do guys NOT buy flowers for girls?  We don’t really comprehend what’s so difficult about it.  It’s incredibly easy.  And pretty cheap.  And makes us really happy.  So where in there is a reason not to do it?  It just doesn’t make any sense at all.  I could say something accusatory like “Chivalry is dead”, but then guys just say that they would behave like gentlemen if women would behave like ladies…which is just complete crap, but I’m not going into that.  So I will leave this as a separate issue…but in that case it’s still just completely mind boggling.

So the moral of this story is… BUY FLOWERS!!

One thought on “Flowers

  1. Me again. Disagreeing again 😉 I know you don’t always put a lot of stock in my opinion, because I’m not a typical female, but I have to say – I do not care about flowers. Like, at all. If you’re going to spend money, there are so many other things I’d rather have/do instead. In general, spending time with someone is much more meaningful to me than gifts. And on top of that, I just don’t care about flowers. And you’re right, if someone didn’t know me that well and got me flowers, I would take it as a thoughtful gesture, and I would be pleased for that reason. But, I don’t think flowers are necessarily a good blanket option. I think what’s more meaningful than chucking flowers at a person to get their attention is taking the time to get to know the person and find out what they really like. And, in turn, talk with someone you’re getting to know and *tell* them what you like. No one reads minds, and everyone is different.

Leave a Reply

