Image
3

Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

20130128-230343.jpg

Although this blog is about love, I haven’t posted a photo in a while, so when I saw the weekly photo challenge and that it was love, I thought it would be a good time to figure out another photo to post on here.  I posted another one on my other blog, but I’ve been trying to stick to photos that aren’t people on this one, to keep it from being cliche.  Also, since the challenge asks for your own interpretation of love, I thought it would be a good idea to pick something challenging.

So, my explanation…

I first considered this photo due to the fact that it has red.  Kinda obvious, given that red is generally associated with love, but that was the only obvious part.  As I contemplate this photo more and more though, I find more ways that it represents love.  If you can’t tell, it’s a photo of shadows (specifically, trees) on a road.  To me the shadows, since they show light and dark, represent the light and dark aspects of love; anything contrasting.  Love and heartbreak, pleasure and pain.  Love isn’t just light; it isn’t just always easy and perfect.  There are hard times, there are struggles, there are things you would really rather not have to deal with, but they are there nonetheless.  And those things make love sweeter, and more worth having.  If this was a picture of a shade-less street, it would be a completely boring photo.  Also, the fact that it’s a road represents the fact that love is a journey.  It isn’t a one time thing, it isn’t something that happens and then you never have to do anything else.  It’s a path you may stumble upon, but once you’re there, you have to choose to stay there.  You have to make the effort to continue along that path.

That’s all I have for now.  I can’t think of anything for the trees, except maybe mystery and beauty.  If you have any other ideas, feel free to contribute. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

Leave a Reply

