Male, 24, In a relationship 1 year

What does romantic love mean to you?

When I show and feel an affection towards a person who reciprocates my affection in a similar manner based on intrigue, earnest interest, sexual attraction, desire of intimacy and consideration (which could be displayed by protection, development and proximity). It is at this point romantic love is established.

Of course, it’s all more complicated than that, isn’t it. Most of all, your life would be less worth living without it once you’ve discovered it.

What is the difference between platonic love and romantic love?

Platonic love does not concede, recognize, or act upon sexual attraction. The willingness involved in the intimacy of romantic love supersedes the lack there of in Platonic love.

Why do you (or we, if you don’t) seek love?

Love is a reassurance of reason. Humans must find reason in life so they can continue to live. Love then can be used as a balancing tool to express and control the purpose of their reason, especially when it comes to disregarding that reason. I have done this on numerous occasions. To love and be loved in return is reassuring our reason to continue living as humans and not just check out and try to find what’s next, if anything. And that, is where we find our humanity nowadays. And that does not solely apply to Romantic love.

Humans can live against the reason they know exists and be content with the supposed goodness it creates… And, as an emotion… I believe love to be good. But dangerous since it is one of the strongest of emotions.

Is there one perfect person out there for you, or can you, through selfless loving, have a great relationship with someone very special?

If there is a perfect person out there for us, there is no use searching for them. Life should not be about achieving perfection, thus finding or believing in a perfect person is meaningless. Love should be given to those around you, not to the unknown. Selfless love is not something that I have felt personally, but giving your love to another with respect and grace is a great accomplishment, and then feeling it reciprocated can create a beautiful relationship.

Should, and do, men pursue women that they are interested in? Should women pursue?

That is a ridiculous question. People should do what they think is best in their given situation. I have seen both occur with positive and negative results.

If you are in a relationship (especially if you are married), how did you know that was the person for you? If not, have you ever been in love, and how did you know?

I have been in love several times. I knew I was in love because I felt that love was what I was in. My own definition at the time, and perhaps right now is a fickle thing. At one time it was due to my belief in my inability to resist that proved love to me; another time I “knew” because someone said it and I believed it was right. Another because of the amount of time and caring spent between us grew to be the best thing in my life. But mostly because it felt right.

I know that right now I want to be with the person that I am with. If I do not wish for my life to coincide with theirs, or do not wish to devote my time sharing love specifically with them, I will not. I do not believe in forever, but I hope and fly toward it everyday.

How do you stay in love, or make it last?

To stay in love… you do anything, because you want to. It’s as simple as that. If you love someone, and want them in your life as your love, you will love them.

To make it last… I can’t answer that. Because I am only 24.

What do you love best about the opposite sex, and what do you dislike the most about them?

As a sex, the women that I have met are exceedingly different and difficult to categorize into one group. They do not fall specifically under one generalization. Besides that, the individual personality of a woman is hers as a human more than a woman; her likes and interests, how she interacts with others, and the way she treats them are most important. As for me, I guess I like curves, breasts, and vaginas… They intrigue me physically.

I generally dislike makeup, which in my society has become a social norm, but I don’t have to wear it, so who am I to complain. I dislike that… not many of them are trained early on to be as self-sufficient as some of the men I know… However, the difference is becoming less despair.

What advice would you give? Love related, but anything at all to anyone at all.

Stop thinking so hard about it. Be patience, rather than forceful. Be honest with yourself as well as others. Love as you would want to be loved.

Leave a Reply

