Female, 26, married 4.5 years

What does romantic love mean to you?

Romantic Love is just that, romantic. It is the intimate, rare love given to one person.

What is the difference between platonic love and romantic love?

Platonic is the love that I have for those who aren’t my spouse, it is a certain level of non-physical intimacy. Romantic love is the love that I reserve only for my spouse, a special level of intimacy both physical, emotional and spiritual that I share will no one else.

Why do you (or we, if you don’t) seek love?

Because we are created to love others. How could we not seek what we were designed for and destined to do?

Is there one perfect person out there for you, or can you, through selfless loving, have a great relationship with someone very special?

I don’t believe there is a perfect person for anyone but I do believe that there are people with whom you are most compatible. I also think though that just because you are most compatible with someone does not mean ultimate relationship success. I was once told that a relationship is not both people giving 50% to equal out to 100%, it is both people giving 100%, that way when someone is operating at less then you are still functioning at above 100% and have extra when you need it.

Should, and do, men pursue women that they are interested in?  Should women pursue?

I don’t think a lot of men do but I think they should. I think both genders are happiest when they are able to do what they were designed to do. Women to be pursued, men to pursue. (old school thinking I know). I think women are strong enough to pursue but in turn we often emasculate the men and then wonder why we have boyfriends who won’t open doors, hold umbrellas and fight for our honor; it’s because we told them, with our pursuit and forwardness, that we want to and are capable of doing it ourselves.

If you are in a relationship (especially if you are married), how did you know that was the person for you? If not, have you ever been in love, and how did you know?

I knew that my spouse was right for me because everyone in our life agreed, I felt peace, I couldn’t imagine my life without them and doing the hard work of being married always seems easier than being without them.

How do you stay in love, or make it last?

Continually take an interest in your significant other. Women, let your men continue to pursue you and keep some things mysterious. Men, continue to pursue and be romantic. Be honest with your expectations and don’t make the other person guess what you need/want. If you want flowers say: I would feel so loved if some flowers showed up in my life at some point. And then men don’t go right out and get them but think of her week and when she would most love to be surprised with a big arrangement. Serve one another. Love is cyclical. If I serve you, you will be more inclined to serve me, which will make me more inclined to serve you…… and it just keeps going. : )

What do you love best about the opposite sex, and what do you dislike the most about them?

I love that we are different and complementary. I love that men are wired differently than women and, often, a lot more fragile than we think. I don’t think I dislike anything I just think I misunderstand a lot of things.

What advice would you give? Love related, but anything at all to anyone at all.

If you are in a relationship I would say, as cliche as it sounds, to love and treat someone the way that you want to be treated; put their needs above your own and surprisingly, all your needs will end up being met.

Leave a Reply

