Broken People

I wrote this poem a couple weeks ago…I hadn’t written anything in a while, but I’m wanting to actually make an effort now.  We’ll see how I do on inspiration.  This relates to the other poem I posted, interestingly enough.  Actually, it relates a lot.  I wasn’t even thinking about the other poem when I wrote this one.  I thought it would be fitting to post this one though, since it flows so smoothly from the last one. 🙂

We are broken people
Trying to find salvation
in each other’s imperfection
Imperfect love, incapable of
fixing us.
But somehow we think someone else
can hold us up,
even though they can’t even hold
themselves up.
Shattered fairy tale dreams.
I used to think it was so simple.
Love is perfect, love is undefeatable, love is everything.
It is everything.
But not how I thought.
It is broken.
We try, we fail…
But we keep trying.
Flowers, peeking up through the snow.
Trying to be strong.
It’s beautiful, and I still have hope.
I will always have hope.
We are broken people.
Love is everything.

One thought on “Broken People

  1. Your poem is very thought-provoking. It is very interesting to observe the sort of hope that springs eternal in people toward love and marriage. Even people who have been divorced three times still hold out hope that marriage might work out for them. I’m not a very discerning person, but when someone says they have no interest in marriage, unless they are a hermaphrodite, I tend not to believe them. Somewhere in there, they are thinking about it. Goes to show you the power of God’s design in our lives toward relationship.

Leave a Reply

